Emotional and Addiction Recovery Coach's Blog

July 23, 2009

Effort to Change

Filed under: Choices,Thought Life,Uncategorized — The UnEmotional Eater @ 4:37 pm
Tags: , , ,

I was thinking about an interview I had one time. At the end of the interview I asked how he felt my skills and experiences lined up with the needs of the position. He went into a big answer but the last thing he said was “this job requires a committed effort. I meet a lot of talented sales people, I can coach you on any aspect of the position but I cannot coach effort. You have to decide if you are willing to put forth the effort that will be required for this position.” I had never heard that before…. I cannot coach effort. But I see it every day working with people that are addicted or emotionally bound up. Heck I see it in myself! You can give someone all the head knowledge in the world. You can visualize the potential in them. But if they or I am not willing to put forth the effort to change it will not happen. All the wishing, praying, dreaming, pissing, moaning, complaining will not make it magically change on its own. I want “it” to change not me!

Gut check time – is there something going on in your life that you need to apply effort toward? This makes me think of John 5:1-8 The man had been laying on his mat for years waiting on someone to put him in the water. Jesus asked the most interesting question. “Do you want to get well?” The man gave a self pity response. And Jesus didn’t say you poor thing! He said “Get up! Pick up your mat and walk”. Take effort, take action, do something different!

Your Emtional and Addiction Relapse Prevention Coach – Tammy

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.